Best of Eugene

A few of my favorite things

Image from Eugeneweekly.com.

Once a year, Eugene Weekly hosts a survey in search of Eugene’s bests, from eateries to sexy shops (Freudian Slip of course!).

I, of course, encourage you to vote me for best journalist/blogger/singles scene but I’m a bit biased, since I have slept with me.

Anyways, the survey is fill-in-the-blank so you can have as much fun as you’d like.

I figured this would be an appropriate time to share with you a few of my favorite things, or rather, places in Eugene.

I often get asked, “what’s your favorite restaurant,” or, better, “what’s a good place to eat?” Asking these questions is equivalent to asking a recent college graduate, “What are you going to do now that you’ve graduated?” First, the graduates would prefer to be drinking as opposed to answering your question, second, they don’t know what the hell they’re going to do and then when they tell you, like the other 82 billion people they’ve told, you’re going to criticize them.

And so, my answer to both of those is, like John Kerry in the 2004 election, is “YES.”

Here’s how it would play out:

Mediator man: “Ms. Haskin, what is a good place to eat in Eugene?”

Me: “YES.”*

However, if you ask me for my favorite bakery or a good barbecue place to take your sister, the answers will spill out of me like a $0.25 candy machine.

Picture via foundshit.com

Here is my $0.25 worth:

Best bakery: Metropol
Best BBQ: Hole in the Wall (I’m sorry, Papa’s Soul Food, I must forsake you)
Best hangover breakfast: Steve’s Breakfast and More (to be fair, I haven’t been to Brail’s)
Best burger: Cornucopia (Wild Bill’s BBQ Bacon Burger)
Best pizza: Track Town
Best coffee: Vero
Best frozen delight (“frozen delight?” Really? Can we just say ice cream?): Red Wagon Creamery
Best place to drink in the sun: Meiji, for the people watching.
Best creative cocktails: The Vintage
Best place to take vegetarians: Disclaimer, my knowledge here is little, but I do favor Cornbread Cafe.
Best new restaurant: Falling Sky 

& Here are a few best of questions that I think should be added to the survey:

  • Best fountain to illegally swim in
  • Best place to hold a party with 300 of your closest friends and get tear gassed
  • Best place to pick up transients
  • Best food that looks like barf but also taste like barf
  • Best basement in Springfield
  • Best bar to take out-of-towners to and then leave there
  • Best place to find a Beaver (trick question, no one likes the beavers. Oh wait, I’m a beaver. Shit.)

*Sorry, I couldn’t find the footage but I remember laughing A LOT.

Leave a Reply

