For Pie I Consult the Oracle

As per request, a pie recipe!

A safe bet is always the Better Homes recipe:

Courtesy of my handy dandy pink Better Homes Cookbook

Courtesy of my handy dandy pink Better Homes Cookbook

I’m not a big fan of Crisco in my pie though. Life’s about butter anyways. So I tend to use the Williams and Sonoma crust recipe with the Better Homes (above) filling recipe.

Crust Recipe (taken from the Willams and Sonoma website):

  Ingredients

    • 2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
    • 2 Tbs. sugar
    • 1/2 tsp. salt
    • 16 Tbs. (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
    • 6 Tbs. very cold water

  Directions (in my words. Or read the super long convoluted version here)

  • Mix together flour sugar and salt. Add butter. Mix on low speed or by hand until the butter is pea-sized. Add water until dough forms.
  • Split dough into two balls.
  • Roll out on floured surface, and line pie plate.
  • The rest of the dough is for the top crust.

Pie = ❤

Super special Melissa secrets–

♡ I like to add rasberries to my blackberry pie, to make it a little more tart

♡ I brush my top crust with milk or cream if I have it on hand to get a flaky crust, then I sprinkle some sugar on top. (You can just use a spoon to sprinkle the milk/cream on top if you don’t have a brush).

♡ I use salted butter and cut back on the salt, because who seriously has unsalted butter in their house?

♡ Melissa

20 responses to “For Pie I Consult the Oracle

  1. First of all, I so heart the new look on this page, you changed the page slightly , no?
    Secondly thank you for the recipes on this berry pie. I shall keep you updated if I have made one. For now I shall concentrate of recovering from this sniffles…
    Thanks again Melissa!

  2. Good Morning Melissa,
    Thanks for visiting my blog.! Love your blog and need to look into the fonts that you use on your blog that keeps the blog posts from looking like blog posts…..love it. I could not find any other way to contact you besides leaving a comment for you. I thought if you really love desserts that you should really love this dessert, and it is EASY TO MAKE.
    http://hbs1991.wordpress.com/2011/06/30/easy-dulce-de-leche-caramel/

    I will admit that my blog tends to be unique, not totally a food blog,, rather an Art Blog, Mennonite Life Blog (which food is a big part of) and Chair Caning and Basketry and Food.
    Thanks for coming and looking around and I wish you all the success in your blog too.

  3. Hey melissa – Thanks for reading and liking my post on Serious Pie (of the pizza kind of course!). These pies look like a lovely treat, that I might try these too since it’s blueberry season!

    • Thanks! Just used a steak knife to cut it out after I had placed the top layer of dough on my pie. You have to be super careful though or your extra heart ends up as a blob.

  4. Hi Melissa-
    Thanks for liking my blog. I definitly agree with you about the shortening (Crisco) in any kind of dough. I never use it. Don’t care if it makes the dough more “tender”. I love all-butter crusts, I love their taste and flaky texture. Crisco just has a dull flavor and coats the mouth with grease. The recipe I use for most pie/tart dough is the simple and classic 3-2-1 by weight. so, 3 parts flour, 2 parts fat, 1 part ice water. It never fails.

  5. Melissa, this is awesome. My husband and I once drove FOUR HOURS out of our way to get a certain slice of pie. If I’m ever in Eugene (or anywhere near it), I know who to hit up for some advice. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog on Sunday. Forgive me for not venturing to yours before now.

    • I would totally do that too! There’s this place called Becky’s on the way to Crater Lake, and they have the best pie! I’m pretty sure they pick the berries and then put them in the pie. I would drive there every day if I could.

  6. I have been on the road and generally away from access to a kitchen for a long time now… seeing recipes is really exciting! Perhaps a pie is the way to dive in again… thanks for sharing. Thank you for your ‘like’ on the “On Planning” post… we broke fast with some serious yumminess that day.

    • Excuse me, it’s a wonderful book. A staple of every household. That said, you caught me,quite a while ago I switched to a butter-based Williams and Sonoma recipe, I much prefer the idea of butter, for some reason the idea of shortening just grosses me out. Too processed. But the problem with butter is that while it is yummy, you get a heavy crust. More recently, a friend shared her recipe for her perfect, delectable, light, buttery crust: use 1/2 shortening, 1/2 butter. Ta da!

Leave a Reply

