Bite of Eugene

Bite of Eugene is an annual event where local food vendors offer “bites” of their fare. Most plates cost between $1 and $6. During the event, which is held in Alton Baker Park, there is also live music, cooking classes and an Iron Chef competition.

3rd Annual Bite of Eugene

3rd Annual Bite of Eugene

Iron Chef Round I, Red Agave vs. Heidi Tunnell Catering

Mike Meyer of Red Agave (right). Iron Chef Round I.

Ingredients of Heidi Tunnell Catering

Red Agave chefs take a break while the competition's oven gets fixed.

Heidi Tunnell

Collateral damage.

Final product

Dessert, trust me, you don't want to know they put in them. Really. Oh fine, I'll tell you. One has chicken skin and another has chicken liver. Tasty? I'll wait while you go barf.

Judges look on while the chefs face challenges, including a broken oven.

Heidi Tunnell as she is announced the round I winner.

Heidi Tunnell as she is announced the round I winner.

Heidi Tunnell talks with the judges after round I of the competition.

Blah blah live music

Children abuse, I mean "play on" the blow-up dragon in the kids area.

And of course, the quote of the day comes from a judge, “I’m going to gag it down just fine.”

6 responses to “Bite of Eugene

  1. Pingback: New post up on Two Pots of Coffee and A Slice of Pie at Midnight « Dispatch from a Yellow Bicycle·

  2. Pingback: I just poured myself a cup of coffee. I think it’s time to admit that I’m never going to adjust to morning class. « Dispatch from a Yellow Bicycle·

Leave a Reply

